Home » Blog » Sights » Shigatse

Sakya monastery

Sakya monastery is located at the northern hill of Sakya county in Shigatse prefecture of Tibet autonomous region of China. In year 1023 of Tibetan water ox year, Khon Kunchock Gyalpo, a well learn Buddhist scholar of Nyimapa sect found this location a very auspicious and decide to establish a [...]

By | 2018-02-02T08:15:59+00:00 5:23 am|

Tashi Lhunpo Monastery བཀྲ་ཤིས་ལྷུན་པོ་།

Tashi Lhunpo monastery is one of the four main monasteries of Gelugpa Monastery in central Tibet, other include Drepung Monastery, Sera Monastery, and Gaden Monastery. The first Dalia Lama Gendun Dup founded the monastery in the year 1447. The full name of the Monastery is Tashi Lhunpo Palkyi Dechen Choklay [...]

By | 2018-04-07T18:16:03+00:00 3:59 pm|
Get the week’s best articles right in your inbox
Hi Click Me